by Samuel Tharmaratnam


The Phantasia Ultimate client displays the following applet.

Player Status - This player status provides all the information about the status of the character.

The left side of the player status shows the characters energy, strength and speed stats. The percent of each compared to the maximum is displayed with a color bar, starting at green when at 100% and slowing turning to darkish red at 20%. The actual number of health points is displayed in the center of the bar.

To the left of each of the bars is the equipment that can modify the main stats: shield, sword and quicksilver. This equipment is already incorporated into the bar.

The right side shows character location information. Included is the character name, the location and the coordinates of the character's current location.

Below this are pictures and values describing a character's more important stats. Here's a quick rundown of what the pictures mean.

- Current Mana

- Character Level

- Gold

- Gems

/ - Cloak

/ - Blessing

/ - Staff or Crown depending on level

/ - Palantir (AKA Palintiri, the mystical seeing stones)

/ - Ring

/ - Virgin

/ - Wand

The action buttons are used for most of the decisions in Phantasia, so you'll be pushing them a lot. To make things easier, the numbers 1-8 on your keyboard can be used in place of are aliases for any of these buttons as long as the cursor is not in the input field in the chat area. The function keys will do the same thing and will work in the chat input field. You can also use the space bar to hit the left-most active button. These keyboard shortcuts are not available in the Normal Java client. Note: Each client has different amounts of java client colors.

The list of players on the right will tell you who is currently playing and give some basic information about them. A letter is used to designate the character race and a second may be used for characters that have attained special ranks. Race designations are M, F, E, D, H, X, T, G, A, E, N, S  for Magic-User, Fighter, Elf, Dwarf, Halfling, Experimento, Thief, Giant, Archer, Ent, Necromancer and Saiyan. Rank designations are N, S, K, Q, O, C, V, X, E, A and W for Knight, Steward, King, Queen, Oracle, Council of the Wise, Valar, Ex-Valar, Evolutionist, Apprentice and Game Wizard.

The number to the right of these designations indicate the channel a character is in. Players can only hear and speak to other players who are in the same channel. Players start on channel 1, the channel reserved for newbies, but have the option to change this under the "Info" menu available while playing. Channels 2-6 are reserved for specific realms. Channel 7 is the role playing channel. Channel 8 is only permitted for players who possess a palantir. Profanity is not permitted on channel 1 and speaking privileges may be taken away if this is abused.

Previous  Next