by Samuel Tharmaratnam


You will frequently find treasure on the carcasses of the monsters you slaughter. More powerful monsters carry more valuable treasure, which is indicated by the monster's treasure type. Also, you may run across type one and two treasures wandering through the realm. A specific type may contain items that you can use in your travels or currency like gold or gems which can be used to buy things at the trading posts.

The chance that treasure is cursed is based upon treasure type. The more valuable treasures have a greater chance of being cursed. A cursed treasure knocks energy lower, and adds some poison.

Below are the various items found for specific treasure types:

Type Zero


Type One

Holy water - kills assorted faeries if enough are held.

Amulet - protects from cursed treasure.

Holy orb - subtracts 0.1 sin.

Type Two

Druid - adds experience and gives a word of wisdom.

Buckler - Shield of a specific strength that you can use

Smurf berries - cures a small amount of poison or heals some energy and fatigue.

Starter Trove Map - this will tell you the distance (+/- 10%) and direction to the starter trove, which
                             contains some gold.

Type Three

Hermit - reduces sin by 15% (or 1 sin point whichever is lower), heals a little,
             and adds some mana.

Virgin - used to subdue a unicorn, or to give much experience and some sin.

Short sword - a sword will add to your strength.

Type Four (scrolls)

Shield - throws a big force field for next fight.

Haste - greatly increases a character's quickness for the next battle.

Increase strength - At the next encounter, strength is greatly increased.

Pick monster - allows finder to pick next monster to battle.

Smart Scroll - Increases finder's brains for the next battle.

Magic Scroll - Increases finder's magic level for the next battle.

Charm Scroll - Protects against any special attacks for the next battle except against The Dark Lord.

Random Scroll - Calls up one of the battle scrolls randomly.

Treasure Trove Map - this will tell you the distance (+/- 15%) and direction to the treasure trove, which
                                 contains a few gems and a blessing.

Type Five

Power booster - adds lots of mana depending on size.

Shield - a shield that is larger than the one from treasure type two.

Lembas - cures a moderate amount of poison and all fatigue.

Type Six

Tablet - increases brains without the restrictions books have.

Treebeard - heals and gives a permanent increase to energy.

Long sword - larger than the treasure type three sword.

Type Seven

Aes Sedai - Cleans 33% of sin, or all of it if sin is low enough.

Gwaihir - allows finder to move anywhere in the realm for free.

Hercules - adds permanently to strength and gives some experience.

Type Eight

Athelas - cures poison, blindness and fatigue completely, heals to max, and makes player immune to the next
             local plague.

Merlyn - adds to magic level, and increases mana.

Quicksilver - improves quickness. The square root of the quicksilver amount rounded up is the extra speed it
                   gives you.

Type Nine

Staff - allows the player to become steward by going to (0,0) when there is no
          king or queen.

Wayland Smith - improves a character's shield, sword or quicksilver. Your choice.

Blessing - reduces sin by 25%, adds mana, rests to max. Used in conjunction with charms to kill The Dark
               Lord. Bearer receives first hit on all monsters.

Charm - protects from cursed treasure, plagues, and special attacks. Used in conjunction with blessing to
             overthrow The Dark Lord.

Mining Rocks - a place to mine for minerals.

Fishing Ponds - a place to fish for fish.

Quest Drop Slip - Allows a player to drop a quest that they are currently doing.

Type Ten

Ring of Power - evil artifact, when used, allows one to hit much harder in battle and sometimes saves the
                      user from death. Limited number of charges. Also beware, though, some rings are cursed...

Type Eleven

Palantir - allows one to see all the other players. Also used by the great council of the wise to seek the grail
              and council trove. Also palantir allows players into channel 8.

Gandalf - Casts all scroll spells on a character for their next combat if your sin is low enough.

Type Twelve

Silmaril - adds to base speed.

Anti-degeneration Potion - stops degenerations for a certain period of time.

Type Thirteen

Monster repellent - repels all monsters for stops degenerations for a certain period of time.

Specific Monster repellent - repels a certain monster for a certain period of time.

Type Fourteen

The One Ring - Like a Ring of Power, but permanent. Destroying the One Ring in the Cracks of Doom while
                       being between level 1000 and 2000 will give you a golden crown, which lets the player
                       become king or queen at the Lord's Chamber.

Any treasure type 10-14 monsters may instead carry a type nine treasure. The Dark Lord may also carry normal rings of power as well as the One.

Note: Morgoth only gives Council Trove Scrolls.

Previous Next